Warrior as Fearless Risk Taker

That`s definitely not me. But it`s an image that I sometimes wish I were.

A warrior may be afraid to take risks, but he takes them anyway. At least he should.

Risks help us learn about our limits–and push past them. Risks help us realize that we are not bound by things we think we`re bound by. Risks help us become better human beings by making us strong and teaching us to trust ourselves and our instincts. Taking risks makes us confront our fears and gives us confidence.

I have taken many what I consider to be, safe risks. In general, I have always had a fall back plan. I have chosen to pursue a life in Japan, at least for now. When I quit my first job here, I had no idea where I was going next. That was probably one of my biggest risks. Here I was, nearly broke, in a foreign country, and no idea what to do next.

I chose a safer path, accepting another job in a different part of the country, even though it wasn`t where I really wanted to be. I knew I would receive a paycheck and be able to live.

Many of my fears revolve around family & money. The choices I make in my life reflect this.

I am afraid if I risk too much, I will lose everything, become lonely and destitute and fighting for my life. Perhaps this is a good place to be.

As a warrior, I think I should take more risks. But a bit at a time. It`s my path.

Leave a comment